Knifer & Aftermath

After posting ‘Is this the right way to deal with bullying?’ to both Hardwarezone and Sammyboy, online forums forums popular with Singaporeans, a general consensus appeared.

Physical force has to be met with physical force.

And I am sure that’s workable in the school yard or out on the streets or wherever delinquents hang out. But when you are a working adult dealing with adult bullies at the workplace, you may have to rethink that meet-physical-force-with-physical-force option.

That’s why I opened Knifer, the 14th chapter in my book, with a range of martial arts moves I could have used against the knife-wielding supervisor, but didn’t. Because even though he was the one who brought out a knife and threatened me with it, without provocation on my part, it would have been unwise to hit a supervisor with a chair. Especially since he was part of the trusted in-house team, and I was just the hired help from an outside agency. His trusted word against my quavering voice from the wilderness.

I had to think outside the box. So I roped in outside help. A blogger.

And he devised a three-step plan that was to culminate in a grand exposé to the social media. The asshole supervisor would have gone down after taking the brunt of the explosive outrage from the general public. In a way, that plan fits in with my philosophy of answering force with force. Except at that time, I wasn’t supposed to merely pit my muscles against his. With that plan, I could have gone for a sublime demonstration of strength, borrowing power from thousands of netizens.

So I have always wondered why I didn’t follow through with the plan.

In my book, I explained that I didn’t think the asshole supervisor deserved to be first publicly ridiculed on the internet and then fired from his job, so I toned down the three-step plan and avoided going for the throat. Performing that small act of mercy kept me all snug and warm inside, until the department store fired me a few weeks later.

I know I was let go because I had rocked the boat earlier, with my written complaint against the supervisor. I know, but I can’t prove. What I can do is describe my last day at the store, in as much detail as possible, and let readers form their own opinion.

Knifer, the 14th chapter, described the knife attack and the formulation of the three-step plan that would have gotten the supervisor fired (instead of me). Then when I settled down to write about the in-house team’s good cop routine, my subsequent questioning by the security manager and finally the ‘mistake’ that got me fired, I decided that Knifer would get too long for comfortable consumption. So the latter part of my ordeal became Aftermath, the 15th chapter.

Teck Y. Loh

About Security Guard

Level 99 Security Guard

Posted on December 6, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

