Back To Work

Well, today I got back to work after taking a long break to work on my manuscript.

I have to say… I still can’t get used to 12-hour shift work! And I don’t think I ever will.

At least when I was doing factory work, we were rewarded with a 4-day break after working 3 consecutive 12-hour shifts. And a 3-day break after 4 consecutive 12-hour shifts.

Security guards in Singapore work six 12-hour shifts in a week. a 72-hour work week.

This time round, I asked for a 5-day work week. So five consecutive 12-hour shifts followed by 2 off days. And then five consecutive 12-hour shifts again.

Of course, I am only complaining about this here on my blog. Can’t do so in front of my colleagues, because some of them work four or five consecutive 24-hour shifts.

Yeah, you heard me right. 24-hour shifts. So far, the record holder is an ex-colleague who was working twenty consecutive 24-hour shifts while we were in the same security agency. After his 24-hour marathon, he would take 10 days off in order to visit his family in Indonesia.

If you are interested to learn more about the plight of 24-hour guards in Singapore, please pray along with me for my manuscript to be accepted! 🙂

Once Guards Gone Wild! is published, you can read about 24-hour shift work in the security industry along with other scams designed to short-change purchasers of security service.

Now I am going to bed. Have to wake up at 4.30 a.m., just so I can reach my work site at half-past six.

Teck Y. Loh

 

About Security Guard

Level 99 Security Guard

Posted on January 4, 2016, in Security Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

